• Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

B-Movie formed in Mansfield, Nottinghamshire in 1980. Originally a three piece, the band featured Steve Hovington on vocals & bass, Paul Statham on guitars and Graham Boffey on drums. They were spotted by Lincoln independent label Dead Good Records and contributed two songs to its compilation album East. Rick Holliday joined the band on keyboards in October 1979 and in 1980 B-Movie released their debut single, The Take Three EP on Dead Good which brought them to the attention of Radio One DJ John Peel. A six track EP followed later that year, featuring early versions of their best known songs Remembrance Day and Nowhere Girl. 

B-Movie were now attracting wider attention through good live reviews and radio plays and after Steve managed to pass a demo tape into the hands of upcoming music impresario, Stevo backstage at a Cabaret Voltaire gig, the band were invited to play his two day Futurist Festival supporting DAF in Hammersmith, London. Stevo subsequently became their manager (along with Soft Cell) and the band recorded Moles for the Some Bizzare Album released December 1980, which also featured recording debuts by Depeche Mode, Soft Cell, The The and 

Blancmange. In January 1981, B-Movie signed to Deram records and went on to release three critically acclaimed singles, ‘Remembrance Day,’ (featured in John Peel’s Festive 50 of 1981) ‘Marilyn Dreams’ and ‘Nowhere Girl’. The band supported Duran Duran on their first UK tour and their classic John Peel session of 1981 became one of the most requested that year.

B-Movie went on to tour America three times and scored several hits in Europe. The original line-up split in 1983. Several compilation albums have appeared, most recently The BBC Radio Sessions on Cherry Red Records. Original members Hovington and Statham continued the band and went on to sign to Sire Records and released one album Forever Running in 1985. A retrospective of this period The Platinum Collection was released by Warner Brothers in 2005.

In 2004 the original line-up reformed for a show at The Metro Club in London. The band went on to perform throughout the UK and Europe and released their first new material for thirty years in 2012 with the album Age of Illusion. 

A new studio album Climate of Fear was released in 2015 for US label Cleopatra, the band having evolved their original hard edged melodic pop into a more eclectic mix drawing from a wider range of influences but still with the unmistakable B- Movie sound with Ricks elegant synthesisers, Graham’s rock-solid drums, Paul’s beautifully harmonic guitar and Steve’s wonderfully deep, velvety baritone vocals! 

New song 'Repetition' is the title track of the new EP which also features new tracks 'Somewhere Cold' & 'Stalingrad' and now released through guitarist Paul Statham's Loki Records in October 2018.

CD and download is available from Loki Records Bandcamp Page and also available to download/stream from all major platforms. Autumn 2020 saw two new releases, 'Promenade' and 'Brighton Beach'. Similar in sound and lyrical content the songs were performed and written by Steve and Paul on vocals and instruments respectively, (with Rick adding some lovely Fender Rhodes Piano to Promenade & Grahams daughter Evey adding equally lovely harmonies to Brighton Beach !